Month: April 2019

God’s Smuggler

God’s Smugger is an amazing autobiography by Brother Andrew telling of his daring exploits spreading the Gospel behind the Iron Curtain. It was published 1967 by The Penguin Group and would fall under the Christian Biography genre.
Born in the 1920s; Andrew grew up in Witte, Holland with his family. He joined the army in 1946; then was discharged only a few years later because of a foot wound. After spending some time working in a factory; he decided to become an evangelist. He trained for some time in England; then went on a few mission trips into such places as Poland and Czechoslovakia. After seeing the spiritual conditions there, Andrew determined that, police, rule, and customs or no, he would spread the gospel and deliver Bibles to all the spiritually starved people living behind the Iron Curtain.
Thus began the adventure of a lifetime.
I would highly recommend this book for all people 12+. There is some violence and intrigue as a result of the brutality of some of the police behind Iron Curtain; as well as some minor thematic elements. An inspiring story of God’s provision and power. 4.5 out of 5 stars.

How to Train Your Dragon

How to Train Your Dragon: The Heroic Misadventures of Hiccup the Viking as told to Cressida Cowell is a fun, lighthearted children’s novel featuring disobedient garden dragons, extremely loud Vikings, and a fearsome breed called the Seadragonus Giganticus Maximus. This book was published first in Great Britain by Hodder Children’s Books and later in the U.S. by Little, Brown and Company; and would fall under the children’s fantasy genre.
Hiccup Horrendous Haddock the Third is certain he will fail the Viking initiation tests. Not only does he have to catch a dragon; he must train it and present it to the tribe within only a few months. And training a dragon is extremely difficult to accomplish; for dragons are never grateful nor are they loyal. To make things worse; the island of Berk is attacked by not one; but TWO huge monsters. Will the Vikings be able to survive the attack of a Seadragonus Giganticus Maximus? Will the young Vikings be up to the tests of initiation? And will Hiccup ever be able to get his dragon to obey him?
I’d recommend this book for ages 12+. If you’ve seen the popular Dreamworks film How to Train Your Dragon, you might notice quite a few differences between the movie and the book; although there are the same lovable characters. There is some rude humor and mild violence to keep an eye out for in both the movie and the book. A humorous story with clever jokes and fun characters; this book gets 2.5 out of 5 stars.

The Thief Lord

A magical, light-hearted adventure in the tradition of Charles Dickens and Ray Bradbury; The Thief Lord-written by Cornelia Funke and published first in Germany by Cecilie Dressler Verlag and later in America by Scholastic Inc-is a wonderful novel well worth the read. This book falls under the fantasy adventure genre.
Prosper and Bo, two orphans fleeing from their aunt and uncle, land themselves in Venice under the protection of a mysterious boy everyone calls the Thief Lord. They roam the streets and canals of the city by day, and by night they sleep in an old abandoned movie theater. It’s an adventurous life; always keeping one step ahead of the police and never knowing what fortune would fling their way.
However, when the boy’s aunt hires a private detective to track the two of them down; their simple life changes dramatically. Will the detective track them down and turn their friend the Thief Lord into the police? Will Bo be taken away from Prosper by their aunt? And what dark secret is the Thief Lord keeping from his friends?
The adventures of the children will bring them into secrets that the world has long forgotten.
I highly recommend this book for ages 13+. There are some mild inappropriate usages of words throughout the story; as well as some violence and minor thematic elements. The Thief Lord is a well written, riveting adventure with enjoyable characters and a magical setting. 4.5 out of 5 stars.