Cornelia Funke

Inkheart

Inkheart, written by Cornelia Funke and published in 2003 by Dressler Verlag, is a tale of stories slipping from the pages of books they belong in and entering the real world, bringing their magic, rivalries, and dangers with them. Follow the adventures of 12-year-old Meggie, her father Mo, and the enigmatic Dustfinger as they travel the countryside in an attempt to stop the villain Capricorn from covering the world with a darkness taken from the pages of his origin book. Fairy tales, classics, mythology, and reality collide as the Silvertongues read from their books in an attempt to save their own world.

I would highly recommend this book for ages 14+. It is well written, rich with literary references, and packed with adventure at every turn of the page. There are a few minor inappropriate jokes and some usage of mature language, as well as violence to watch out for. Full of memorable characters, a unique storyline, and bookish quotes, Inkheart is a book that will keep you up until the early hours of the morning. 4 out of 5 stars.

Dragon Rider

Dragon Rider, a #1 New York Times Bestseller written by Cornelia Funk was first published in Germany by Cecilie Dressler Verlag and later published in America by Chicken House, an imprint of Scholastic Inc. This book would fall under the contemporary fantasy\modern fairy tale genre.
The valley of the silver dragons is in danger of discovery by the humans. Firedrake, a young dragon, and his faithful brownie Sorrel set off in search of a new home for their friends; the fabled Rim of Heaven, a dragon refuge hidden among the highest mountain peaks in the world. Firedrake, Sorrel, and their human friend Ben; along with other allies both magical and ordinary must evade the evil Golden Nettlebrand and his treacherous armor-cleaners while hunting for their new home. Crossing deserts and oceans; encountering djinns, basilisks, sand fairies, and sea serpents; and fulfilling ancient prophecies; these friends will learn what it means to be a family.
I highly recommend this book for ages 10+. There is some violence and name calling; as well as some magic and other fantasy elements. A highly engaging read with riddles, fabulous creatures, and a heroic quest; well written story and fun characters. 4 out of 5 stars.

The Thief Lord

A magical, light-hearted adventure in the tradition of Charles Dickens and Ray Bradbury; The Thief Lord-written by Cornelia Funke and published first in Germany by Cecilie Dressler Verlag and later in America by Scholastic Inc-is a wonderful novel well worth the read. This book falls under the fantasy adventure genre.
Prosper and Bo, two orphans fleeing from their aunt and uncle, land themselves in Venice under the protection of a mysterious boy everyone calls the Thief Lord. They roam the streets and canals of the city by day, and by night they sleep in an old abandoned movie theater. It’s an adventurous life; always keeping one step ahead of the police and never knowing what fortune would fling their way.
However, when the boy’s aunt hires a private detective to track the two of them down; their simple life changes dramatically. Will the detective track them down and turn their friend the Thief Lord into the police? Will Bo be taken away from Prosper by their aunt? And what dark secret is the Thief Lord keeping from his friends?
The adventures of the children will bring them into secrets that the world has long forgotten.
I highly recommend this book for ages 13+. There are some mild inappropriate usages of words throughout the story; as well as some violence and minor thematic elements. The Thief Lord is a well written, riveting adventure with enjoyable characters and a magical setting. 4.5 out of 5 stars.